Home » Summer 2008 » Kinsey Librarian Wins ALA Equality Award

Kinsey Librarian Wins ALA Equality Award

Liana Zhou, Head of K.I. Library
Head of the Kinsey Library and Archives, Liana Zhou.

We are pleased to announce that Liana Zhou is the recipient of the 2008 Equality Award from the American Library Association. This award recognizes an outstanding contribution toward promoting equality in the library profession. A longstanding member of the ALA, Ms. Zhou was elected to the ALA council in 2007.

Besides her role as head of The Kinsey Library and Archives, Liana is a former president of the Chinese American Librarians Association, and the recipient of two earlier prestigious awards from the Chinese American Librarians Association - the Distinguished Services Award (2006) and the President's Award (2004).

She was selected for both her accomplishments at The Kinsey Institute and for her leadership roles in several professional organizations including the American Library Association, the Chinese American Librarians Association and the 2006 Joint Conference of Librarians of Color, according to Jury Chair Tim Grimes, Ann Arbor District Library.

In a press release from ALA, supporters noted Ms. Zhou's extraordinary dedication and her personal commitment to creating more diverse collections at The Kinsey Institute. They also recognized other qualities and accomplishments, including:

  • advocating for sex education and gender equity;
  • researching and publishing on sexual equality;
  • working with national and international professional associations on issues related to minority concerns.

"Liana is committed to issues related to diversity, equality, mentorship, minority concerns, recruitment and retention. Her energy and enthusiasm for equality and diversity are contagious and re-energizes those around her," said Sally Tseng, nominator, honorary executive director of the Chinese American Librarians Association.

Zhou received her MLS in Library and Information Science from Indiana University and her Bachelor's in Philosophy from Sichuan University in China. She also studied on the graduate level at Nanking University (Western Philosophy) in China, and at the Earlham School of Religion in Richmond, Ind.

In addition to her leadership roles with the Chinese American Librarians Association (including terms as president) and the American Library Association (including terms on ALA Council and the Diversity Council), Liana has served on numerous professional boards and committees, including the Asian Federation for Sexology, the Association for Asian Studies and the Society for Scientific Study of Sexuality.

The 2008 Equality Award will be presented at the ALA Award Ceremony and Reception on Tuesday, July 1, during the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif.



« Return to Summer 2008 Contents